Word For It. . .

2Chronicles7:14-“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

A Town Meeting [begin with prayer]

Posted by wordforit on January 22, 2008

“And now for the invocation…” said the mayor of my town as the Town Council began its meeting. I was pleasantly surprised to see this practice has survived in our secular age.

  by: Davy Crockett                         

                         _________________________

The chamber of City Hall was filled with people, young and old, with business to bring before the mayor and commissioners. Some were there for kudos and awards; others had problems and complaints and were there to seek redress.

The proceedings moved quickly and smoothly under the guidance of the popular mayor, who was obviously in charge and who handled each item of business with attentiveness and good humor. At the end, not everybody was pleased with the outcome, but everybody had been heard and given consideration. Some items of business were not given a final decision, but were tabled for more consideration.

All in all, it was a positive experience, and an example of the kind of local government that many parts of the world long to have; peaceful, responsive, representative governing in a thriving community.

As a Christian, I came away with some observations that many people might over-look, especially if they are not familiar with what the Scriptures of the Bible actually have to say about the reward of the “saved.” While most mainstream churches proclaim a “feel good gospel” about the person of Jesus, with the hope of prosperity in this life and vague promises of an afterlife in heaven, which is not the message of the Bible. Actually, the town meeting that I attended was much more attuned to the message of Christ than the mainstream message. “Really?” you may ask. Check it out. The Bible makes it very plain.

Read the parable of the minas in Luke 19. In the story, Jesus described those who were faithful in handling the resources entrusted to them: And he said to him, ‘Well done, good servant; because you were faithful in a very little, have authority over ten cities.’ And the second came, saying, ‘Master, your mina has earned five minas.’ Likewise, he said to him, ‘You also be over five cities'” (vv. 17-19).

Do we grasp the meaning of this? The Messiah promised rulership to His faithful followers, not some vague, ethereal reward. The good message is that true Christians who are faithful to the end will actually govern; working with people to solve problems and to bring about the peace and plenty that God wants mankind to enjoy.

In other passages, He makes it even clearer. The Apostle Paul wrote to Timothy: “If we endure, we shall also reign with Him (2 Timothy 2:12). [same verse-If we deny him, He will deny us.-WFI] And, in the mysterious book of Revelation, the Apostle John was inspired to write: “And have made us kings and priests to our God; and we shall reign on the earth” (Revelation 5:10).

There are many more very plain references to “kings and priests” that pertain to the reward of the “saved”. We should realize that the reference to kings has to do with civil governing, and the reference to priests has to do with teaching the truth of God’s ways to people whose minds have been opened to understanding. It makes a fascinating, exciting, mind-expanding study.

If you want to know more about what the future holds for you, backed up by Scripture and plain teaching, request our booklet entitled Your Ultimate Destiny. It is an eye opener!

You can order it free of any charge at:  http://tomorrowsworld.org/orderfree.shtml

Or you can download it at : http://tomorrowsworld.org/cgi-bin/tw/booklets/tw-bk.cgi?category=Booklets1&item=1104093303

Prepare now to govern your town meetings.

                      ______________________________

WFI: To add one further thought regarding our responsiblity:

Luke 12:48  . . .”For unto whomsoever much is given, of him shall be much required: and to whom men have committed much, of him they will ask the more.”

4 Responses to “A Town Meeting [begin with prayer]”

  1. […] wordforit wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt“And now for the invocation…” said the mayor of my town as the Town Council began its meeting. I was pleasantly surprised to see this practice has survived in our secular age.   by: Davy Crockett                                                   _________________________ The chamber of City Hall was filled with people, young and old, with business to bring before the mayor and commissioners. Some were there for kudos and awards; others had problems and complaints and were there to seek redress. The proceedings moved quickly and smoothly under the guidance of the popular mayor, who was obviously in charge and who handled each item of business with attentiveness and good humor. At the end, not everybody was pleased with the outcome, but everybody had been heard and given consideration. Some items of business were not given a final decision, but were tabled for more consideration. All in all, it was a positive experience, and an example of the kind of […] […]

  2. marlajayne said

    Yes, I’m still out in Blogland and still reading your posts. Many of them are so deep that they make me think harder than I want to so I’ve been basically just reading and enjoying. However, I just had to comment on this one because it’s so refreshing and encouraging to know that there are some people “in charge” who are brave enough to pray in public and deal with the consequences. The president of our college does it at school related functions and says he plans to continue doing so until someone orders him to stop. Oh, and about the verse from Luke-it’s one of my favorites. I’ve been known to remind (or nag) my children with it on more than one occasion if I thought they were goofing off or not working hard enough. I ususally take it a step further and tell them that the more they use what they have, the more they’ll be given.
    ___________________________________________________

    Hi, Jayne!! Don’t we wish for a time when there wasn’t so much dissension over praying? The material I have been studying due to the (convoluted) elections, makes me cringe. Many would consider some of it “conspiracy theories” but when one begins to see it over and over from different individuals with citations, pictures, etc. it creates a different outlook. Events that we think nothing of are exactly as some have written, including the Bible prophets.
    The principal where I last taught would call for a moment of silence, but every-once-in-a-while, he would slip and say ‘prayer’. No one ever called him on it, to my knowledge, and he’s the best leader that school’s ever had. He keeps planning to retire, but, thankfully we still have him!

    I love that verse from Luke, too, and turn to Luke often. Also, I especially like Matthew 12:34-37 where we are taught that we will answer for every idle word spoken. I try to keep that in mind, given my proclivity for speaking too “candidly”. ;-))

    I’m happy to see you and apologize for not visiting much. Will get over there to see what’s happening with you today
    !!

    In Christ’s Love.

  3. marlajayne said

    A couple of quick thoughts (if that’s possible for me!). Actually, it’ll have to be because I have a class that begins at 5:30. About the idle words spoken, it’s amazing how many times we’re told to watch our tongues or speech in the Bible…and/or how we’re to use a “soft answer” and so forth. Somewhere (my sister would know exactly where) there’s mention of how the tongue is such a small member and yet causes so much contention and hurt. Recently, I blogged something about speaking words of love and am earnestly striving to do it.

    About the prayer, I still get a little confused about what to do in restaurants. One of my brothers always wants everyone to hold hands while someone blesses the food. While I do it, I’m sometimes feel a little uneasy, not because I’m not grateful or because I have a problem giving thanks. It’s just that I remember how Christ had a problem with people praying on the street corners so that everyone could see them. Didn’t he say to retire to our closets…or something like that? So anyways, I handle it differently everytime depending on whom I’m with, but I’m NEVER ashamed or embarrassed to pray in public. I just wonder what HE prefers.

    I was thinking about passionate and fervent you are about your ideas, and a couple of weeks ago, I blogged something about choosing a word of the year to guide you (or “a person”). Passion should be your word…or fervor…or maybe even courage. It takes more courage to speak up for one’s beliefs than to keep silent, and I admire that in you.

    That’s it for today. It’s 5:12 and almost time to “rock and roll.”
    _____________________________________________________________

    Your ‘quick thoughts’ are like mine—it ain’t happenin’! ;-))
    You must be referring to James 3:5-8 in which he says (and I paraprhase) for such a little member, the tongue sure ‘talks a good game’ but isn’t it so true “how great a matter a little fire kindleth”! (Just look at the presidential candidates…been to Cola lately? lol)

    You probably can guess that I do not have a problem Thanking God for or asking for God’s Blessing any time, anywhere. To me, it’s not about making a show but setting an example of gratitude, especially when children are present. I do not know to whom, which or how other faiths thank their god but I do know that Jesus taught us by example in Matthew 15:36 when He gave thanks for the seven loaves and few fishes He was about to feed (v38>>) “four thousand men, beside women and children”. In thinking about how some will make a production of praying so that others can see them, 1Timothy 2:8 teaches to pray ‘everywhere’. (There is more to this chapter than I will get in to b/c it would rile up a feminist argument. I don’t argue scripture well b/c, as you know, salting my words w/ grace is a tremendous effort when it comes to distortions.>>That’s the passion you speak of and I really struggle to keep it in check…;-) That is not to say we are to “overwhelm an (imaginary) audience” with ourselves, distracting from the Holiness of God and the humbleness with which we speak to Him. If it’s not sincere, you can bet He knows as likely will those who has a close enough walk with Jesus.
    Ephesians 2:9 (lest any man should boast) and Luke 18:10 (the Pharisee and the Publican praying in the temple) are what keep coming to mind but it seems there are scriptures that directly address what you mean. I’ll have to get back to this.

    I take your note of my passion as a huge compliment, Jayne, so, Thank You. Funny, b/c I was told continually as a kid to ‘let it go’ and now we have ‘let it go’ to a point of total confusion in our culture. I don’t write more of my own posts here b/c I am being paid for them elsewhere (copyright jargon–pseudonym) but I am trying hard to get to that point. One of my sisters told me I need to go back, get my law degree and enter politics so that we would have one more with a lawful fair mindedness to help. At least I’d have one vote!! ;-))

    Thanks for keeping me on my toes, Jayne!!
    In Christ’s Abiding Love.

  4. marlajayne said

    You’d have two votes: mine and your sisters. Maybe you should think about that. You’re still young enough to consider a second career. I’m at a crossroads about “what’s next,” but that’s a topic for another day.

    Yes, I meant your “passion” as a positive thing. While I see the prudence of “letting it go” sometimes,I also see that that’s how things go slowly but surely downhill…the slippery slope. One of the things that really bothers me today is the apparent demise of the American family. It saddens me more than I can express to see so many young single mothers who have no intention of marrying. I’m not being judgmental…really I’m not. But enough about that for today.

    I looked up the scripture about Christ blessing the loaves and fishes and noticed something I’d never really thought much about before: He gathered up the leftovers instead of just tossing them. It hit me for the first time that perhaps even in that small act, He was teaching us about using our resources wisely.
    _______________________________________________________________

    WfI Reply:
    LOL Thanks, Jayne!! That means a lot to be worthy of having you in my corner!

    Yes, I can remember snippets of what was going on and, although I did not pay much attention as a youth, it’s obvious we have reaped what was sown. The “reasonings” I could come up with for doing what I saw the rest of the world doing. . .!! Thank God my parents protected me from myself.

    When I was a teenager, girls would not want everyone to know she was pregnant, but now it’s celebrated and “the stars” are having a profound influence, for certain. As we know, there are many sides and many circumstances, I’m just ashamed that it’s not taken seriously anymore. Then it perpetuates. Alas, I know what you mean in the disclaimer about not being judgmental. . .for whatever good it does to say! When Isaiah was prohecying, he was called a traitor; we can expect it to get worse and as I study and pay attention, the so-called “rights” others are so passionate about are detrimental.

    I think often about wastefulness and gluttony and make such an effort to be grateful. I used to know an elderly lady whose family made fun of her for being ultra-frugal. . . beside the fact of growing up during the Depression, she never had much material-wise as an adult, either. Raised 7 children with next-to-nothing and it just became natural to not be wasteful. Some material I’ve been reading that I should have already posted makes me think we’re closer than is obvious to many shortages and “doing without”. We have no fear, but imagine a world so used to “having” with so many who don’t believe and are not psychologically (or otherwise) prepared!! Ezekiel 33 instructs us to be watchmen, and, as you say, it’s taken as judgmental or superstition or whatever the zing word of the day might be! Oh my, have I strayed off topic again? ;-))

    God Bless and Keep You, Jayne!!

Leave a Reply

 
