Word For It. . .

2Chronicles7:14-“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

Contentious Commenters

Posted by wordforit on November 14, 2007

25redicross.jpg Christians blog out of love simply because we want everyone to be in heaven reaping the rewards of faithfulness. We want everyone to understand what it means and how fulfilling it is to take up the Cross and follow Jesus to a worthwhile life. I do not understand why some reject Him and I do not understand why they insist on vilifying us on our sites. The irreligious and unbelievers can forget converting me so, please, spend time in God’s Word rather than finding fault with those who choose to share the joy.

John 5:24~ “I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life”.

Visitors have been leaving heated comments regarding my stand against homosexuality and The Golden Compass. Ironically, they have sent others here to “investigate” and I had to close comments and set them to “awaiting moderation” in order to watch out for those who may be hindered by such poison. I am quite sure they would not appreciate me visiting their site to leave contentious remarks.

Romans 10:17~ “So faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ.” 

If there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that satan promotes human logic and intelligence way above God’s Holiness. I am not averse to expounding on anything I’ve said and I am open to discussion but when someone approaches dialogue with an attitude of “dumbing me down”, beginning with what an idiot I am for believing scripture and how ignorant Christians are, I see nothing except problems that I am not required to babysit.

Matthew 10:14~”And whosoever shall not receive you, nor hear your words, when ye depart out of that house or city, shake off the dust of your feet“.

I cannot tell you everything that I have experienced and learned over the years; I can only encourage you to seek and support Godliness.

1 Corinthians 15:2~”It is this Good News that saves you if you continue to believe the message I told you-unless, of course, you never believed it in the first place”.

That is not to say that God cannot change any and every heart, but one must be willing and receptive to begin change. It is not my place to debate or beg someone in to believing in Jesus Christ as our Savior, nor is it up to me to coerce or cajole anyone who has access to so much good information, yet they seek darkness. Way before the internet, we had the privilege of owning Bibles and it’s a shock how many do not know what it contains and the marvel of the peace that comes with understanding God’s promises. 

1 Peter 1:23‑25~ “For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God. For, “All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field; the grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of the Lord stands forever”. And this is the word that was preached to you”.

You can find those who will expend time and energy arguing with you, but I am not one. I have prayed for you, and will continue to pray.

Note: One of the inflammatory commentors contends that if we had to follow through with all that’s in 1Corinthians 6:9-10, why not just give up? God is alive and listening. He will forgive if we ask and repent. To repent in this case means not only being remorseful, but changing what we know is sinful behavior or thinking. Pridefulness must be set aside.

1Corinthians 6:9-10~”Don’t you realize that those who do wrong will not inherit the Kingdom of God? Don’t fool yourselves. Those who indulge in sexual sin, or who worship idols, or commit adultery, or are male prostitutes, or practice homosexuality, 10 or are thieves, or greedy people, or drunkards, or are abusive, or cheat people—none of these will inherit the Kingdom of God”.

Please, seek Him before it’s too late!

I love you but, more importantly, God loves You!

3 Responses to “Contentious Commenters”

  1. marlajayne said

    Dale, I don’t know why people have this attitude either, but I’ve noticed it quite often. In fact, there’s a blog that I often visit, and the young woman who hosts it is so loving and genuine and Christlike that you can feel her strong spirit. Really, you can. Anyway, a couple of weeks ago she listed some of the things that she believed and then asked others to post what they believed (about God). Oh my goodness, it was awful. People who were supposedly her friends began using her site as a forum for spreading venom. That’s the only way I can describe it. I ventured a couple of posts, but the people who were posting began arguing with me, and they weren’t even making sense! One evening as I was reading a particularly critical, hateful post, I remembered these words: “You can’t bring someone into the light by stepping into the darkness with them.” That’s so true, isn’t it?

    I don’t blame you for blocking the negative comments. You’re trying to bring more of the light of Christ into the world and into people’s lives, and if those with evil intentions are allowed to post on your site, it could eventully thwart your efforts.

    I applaud you for taking a stand.

  2. Odale said

    Why allow confusion and hostility? That’s anywhere! This is a blog for God’s Glory, not mine, so they need to understand how disrespectful that type of nonsense is in this place. If I am in a site that is plainly anti-God, I won’t bother commenting. If they’ve gone to that much trouble, all that’s left is prayer.

    You’re so right, Jayne; the comments don’t even make sense. It reminds me of the lady who tried to sue the Southern Baptist Convention (Kentucky?) b/c they terminated her when they found out she was a lesbian. Hello! Why would she want to work there? (I would say that if I were a lesbian!) The agendas are so wearisome…

    Some of the topics I post are upsetting, and when I gather info, I cannot leave those sites fast enough, but I think a lot of the comments are a result of how society has regressed and we (Christians) are unaware. What some will vehemently defend and expound on is astonishing! So arrogant about it, to boot!

    The sites listed in “Deal with the Devil” are only the beginning of things to come and I sincerely believe all the sorcery and lewdness are a reflection of pridefulness, which was satan’s downfall. God Help Us!!

    btw, I feel for the other lady. I do not like to come across arguments…that indicates it’s upsetting to “spectators”, too. I can’t imagine you, Sweet Jayne, being in a brawl! JUST KIDDING!!!

  3. Gene Thomas said

    I can’t tell my neighbor that if he will just accept Christ he will be happy and have the same feelings of joy that I have. My neighbor has a very good job, a very nice house and family. A better car than I have and a daughter in the university of Georgia. He IS as happy as I am. Why, he wonders, does he need Jesus?

    As I see it, one of our main problems is that we fail to talk about sin and its eternal consequences. Forget its immediate consequences, which seem to be nil in most cases.

    Perhaps we should refine the argument that starts with “why should a Holy and Perfect God let you into heaven? Proving that it can have nothing to do with our goodness, and preceding on to Christ. Sin is a problem that can have no human solution. That, at least, is historically demonstrable. Its about our sin, not how good we are. And, alas, happiness and joy are irrelevant.
    __________________________________

    Thanks for your input, Gene, and Welcome!
    It’s not politically correct to speak of sin from the pulpit (although that is hopefully changing; see “Mega Church Pastor and Dr. Spock”) and it creates heat elsewhere, as I have learned. I address “unpopular” topics here as time allows in an effort of awareness and include myself as ever-striving for improvement, but some do not want to make the effort to change to spend eternity with Jesus, which bothers me deeply.

    Why should a Holy and Perfect God want us in heaven, indeed! I read an essay that expounded that to “why should a Holy and Perfect God want unbelievers and the impenitent in with His children”?

    Something that seems to have been lost in the “prove it to me” mindset is the desire to learn more on our own about what the Bible teaches. We have resources available, some more than others, but, as Jesus said in Matthew 19:24 “It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God”. He was simply referring to the sense of need in that those with “plenty” may not feel as strongly b/c they consider themselves self-sufficient. We can continue to pray for God to convict ones heart and be an example, but I rarely discuss/debate biblical issues with those who have already indicated where they stand and do not see anything wrong or missing in their life. Keeping them in prayers is a given. As written in the “Wrestling with Principalities I & II” posts (Oct. 4), “If Satan isn’t after you, he has no need b/c he has you where he wants you.”

    You’re right that it is about sin, and I would add that it is a continual imperative to pray for forgiveness. I do not claim to have all the answers, or time to answer all the disputes, but I do know that if we seek, we will find, and if we don’t, we have no excuses. Romans 1:19-20 “They know the truth about God because he has made it obvious to them. 20) Forever since the world was created, people have seen the earth and sky. Through everything God made, they can clearly see his invisible qualities-his eternal power and divine nature. So they have no excuse for not knowing God“. (NLT)

    Before Bibles were so available, people had to take the word of priests, but we have the luxury of finding those more biblically scholarly for augmentation and clarification (excellent links in the sidebar!), always seeking guidance from the Holy Spirit.

    Regarding happiness and joy, I am not sure how you mean that it is irrelevant. If you mean in the sense of self-serving like so many are gearing their teaching toward, then I would agree. If, on the other hand, you meant that there is not happiness and joy in the Christian walk with Jesus, I would passionately disagree! There is much happiness in living for His purposes, unless we (not-so-secretly) hold on to those things of the world (as Lot’s wife did). In actuality, my only and greatest grief comes in thinking about how many will not seek, repent, believe and submit to the Saving Grace of Jesus. It is complex, but not in the worldly way. Our ways are not His ways, therefore, we must always seek His guidance.

    As a local pastor stated, all Christians need to be theologians and trust the Holy Spirit to be ready with answers.

    God’s Blessings on You and Yours, Gene, and I pray that your neighbor will feel a desire in his soul for knowing Jesus.

Leave a Reply

 
