Word For It. . .

2Chronicles7:14-“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

Be Still…

Posted by wordforit on October 13, 2007

be_still_va.jpg

Instructions for Life 

  1. Give people more than they expect and do it cheerfully.
  2. Memorize your favorite poem.
  3. Don’t believe all you hear, spend all you have or sleep all you want.
  4. When you say, “I love you,” mean it.
  5. When you say, “I’m sorry,” look the person in the eye.
  6. Be engaged at least six months before you get married.
  7. Believe in love at first sight.
  8. Never laugh at anyone’s dreams.
  9. Love deeply and passionately. You might get hurt but it’s the only way to live life completely.
  10. In disagreements, fight fairly. No name calling.
  11. Don’t judge people by their relatives.
  12. Talk slow but think quick.
  13. When someone asks you a question you don’t want to answer, smile and ask, “Why do you want to know?”
  14. Remember that great love and great achievements involve great risk.
  15. Call your mom.
  16. Say “bless you” when you hear someone sneeze.
  17. When you lose, don’t lose the lesson.
  18. Remember the three R’s: Respect for self; Respect for others; Responsibility for all your actions.
  19. Don’t let a little dispute injure a great friendship.
  20. When you realize you’ve made a mistake, take immediate steps to correct it.
  21. Smile when picking up the phone. The caller will hear it in your voice.
  22. Marry a man you love to talk to. As you get older, his conversational skills will be as important as any other.
  23. Spend some time alone.
  24. Open your arms to change, but don’t let go of your values.
  25. Remember that silence is sometimes the best answer.
  26. Read more books and watch less TV.
  27. Live a good, honorable life. Then when you get older and think back, you’ll get to enjoy it a second time.
  28. Trust in God but lock your car.
  29. A loving atmosphere in your home is so important. Do all you can to create a tranquil harmonious home.
  30. In disagreements with loved ones, deal with the current situation. Don’t bring up the past.
  31. Read between the lines.
  32. Share your knowledge. It’s a way to achieve immortality.
  33. Be gentle with the earth.
  34. Pray – there’s immeasurable power in it.
  35. Never interrupt when you are being flattered.
  36. Mind your own business.
  37. Don’t trust a man who doesn’t close his eyes when you kiss him.
  38. Once a year, go someplace you’ve never been before.
  39. If you make a lot of money, put it to use helping others while you are living. That is wealth’s greatest satisfaction.
  40. Remember that not getting what you want is sometimes a stroke of luck.
  41. Learn the rules then break some.
  42. Remember that the best relationship is one where your love for each other is greater than your need for each other.
  43. Judge your success by what you had to give up in order to get it.
  44. Remember that your character is your destiny.
  45. Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon.

 ~Author-H. Jackson Brown, Jr.~

8 Responses to “Be Still…”

  1. jonolan said

    This is a truncated version of the list / book Life’s Little Instruction Book written by Jackson Brown and H. Jackson Brown Jr.

    A similar truncation circled the web and was wrongly accredited to the Dali Lama; this was proven to be an urban myth.

  2. marlajayne said

    These are all so good that I hardly know where to start commenting. I especially like #15! #29 is good too. One of my friends deliberately keeps candy like Hugs, Hershey’s Kisses, or Treasures in candy dishes around her house to remind all of them to show affection and to remember that their family is their biggest treasure. #31 is good; I think listening between the lines is important too because sometimes people can’t or won’t tell you how they really feel or what they’re thinking about. Sometimes they don’t have the words, or then again maybe they’re just afraid of rejection. Sometimes I’ll look at a person who seems to be struggling to say something, and I imagine them saying, “Please hear what I can’t say.” Sometimes it’s scary!

  3. Odale said

    Thank you, Jonolan! Can’t remember where I got it, but will check into the Browns b/c I would want to give credit for their effort!

    Of course, “Call Mom”, Marla Jayne! ;-)) #34, Prayer has immeasurable power, too! I made up a saying something like, “lower your expectations, not your standards”, when trying to hire people for a restaurant, kinda like #24, and yes, what’s not being said can be more important than what is spoken. It’s funny you would say that…I’m one of the people who will feel for those who are trying so hard and I want to help…I know a lady who others become impatient with and I can understand the frustration from both sides but we all get “tongue-tied”…

  4. marlajayne said

    I thought some of those phrases sounded familiar, and now I know why. I love that little book. I haven’t looked at it in a while, and now I’m inspired to. I might be wrong about this, but I think the book came about because he had been keeping a notebook of sage sayings that he wanted to give his son when he left for college. The notebook was later published. This is cool: #511 in the book is “Call your mother,” and my mother’s street address was 511.

  5. Odale said

    Wow, that is a cool coincidence!
    Like you, I knew I had read this, but attributed it to reading so much and going through so many e-mails. Mr. Brown’s site is linked under where I placed his name; I think you’ll enjoy visiting there! (It does say that he wrote these for his son.)
    A lot of authors are concerned about plagiarism and I notice they give excerpts so I couldn’t find all of these listed, but enough to reasonably allow that they’re his. I also see blogs with copyright notices… I don’t blame them for the amount of work involved in some writings! I don’t try to write someone’s entire research project but mine will usually have enough links to help someone who might be working on a paper! ;-)) Personally, I learn by writing, teaching, or talking about topics. Recently, I read a comment where a reader disagreed with the post, then later came back and acknowledged that he had misread and had said exactly what the writer was proposing. How many times that happens but they don’t come back and “fess up”!! ;-)

  6. marlajayne said

    Once in a blue moon I’ll come up with something that I think is original, and then soon thereafter, I’ll come across almost the exact same thoughts and words written by another person…sometimes by a person long dead. Can you believe it? Has that ever happened to you?

    One of my favorite writers is Stephen Covey, and I LOVE The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People. In fact, I can honestly say that that book (especially the very first habit) changed my life and way of thinking. It has been ten years or more since I read that book the first time, and it’s amazing that since that time, I’ve seen those very ideas in other books…even the Bible. So I’m wondering if sometimes people have read and studied so much that the ideas have become part of their own mindset. Does this make sense?

  7. Odale said

    In relating to Ecclesiastes 1:9 “…no new thing under the sun…”, I think we have the same thoughts, just expressed or articulated differently. Experiences, perceptions, conditions, etc., would make differences…Yes, I also think we can read something, forget we read it, and subconsciously it affects our thinking. But doesn’t it bug you to think it was an original thought, then see it somewhere and be certain you never read it…?

  8. gypsygirl said

    my favourites: #4,9,17,18,24,26,28,41,42,45! Though, I loved them all, these appealed to me the most! Thankyou again Odale! :) It really is a marvel to see you bring us something new and engrossing everytime!

Leave a Reply

 
