Word For It. . .

2Chronicles7:14-“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

Inspiring Quotes

Posted by wordforit on October 9, 2007

Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could; some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; you shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Look at everything as though you were seeing it for the first time or the last time. Then your time on earth will be filled with glory.

Betty Smith

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

All we need to make us really happy is something to be enthusiastic about.

Charles Kingsley

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint on it you can.

Danny Kaye

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The minute you choose to do what you really want to do, it is a different kind of life.

R. Buckminster Fuller

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yesterday is the past, tomorrow is the future, but today is a gift. That is why it is called the present.

Bil Keane

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You can’t have a better tomorrow if you are thinking about yesterday all the time.

Charles Kettering

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you view all the things that happen to you, both good and bad, as opportunities, then you operate out of a higher level of consciousness.

Les Brown

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A life without purpose is a languid, drifting thing; every day we ought to review our purpose, saying to ourselves: This day let me make a sound beginning, for what we have hitherto done is naught!

Thomas A. Kempis

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any fool can criticize, condemn, and complain but it takes character and self-control to be understanding and forgiving.

Dale Carnegie

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Class is an aura of confidence that is being sure without being cocky. Class has nothing to do with money. Class never runs scared. It is self-discipline and self-knowledge. It’s the sure footedness that comes with having proved you can meet life.

Ann Landers

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

10 Responses to “Inspiring Quotes”

  1. gypsygirl said

    I love quotes of all kinds.. silly, witty, heartwarming, wise…all enamour me! I loved reading through this post! Keep going, Odale! :)

  2. marlajayne said

    About the life without purpose quote, I tried to write a personal mission statement a few years ago and COULD NOT DO IT. I know my life has purpose, but it seems hard to actually put it into words. If I could, then I think maybe I wouldn’t get sidetracked so often.

    And Dale Carnegie…gotta love that guy!

  3. Odale said

    Funny, because I really like that Dale Carnegie guy, too, and especially this quote.
    Marla Jayne, my dear friend, it’s like someone once told me about accomplishments: “You have done more than you give yourself credit for. Raised child(ren),learned skills/profession/academics, touch lives every day in a positive way, etc., etc.”
    You are, besides all of that, a faithful Christian, psychologist, teacher, writer, gardener, etc., etc. Just how much purpose do you want?!? ;-)) I do relate to what you’re saying about putting it into words and getting sidetracked… It never seems like we’ve “done enough”… I guess that keeps us ever-striving for improvement!!

  4. Odale said

    Hiya’ gypsygirl! Thanks for always encouraging me!

    Are you feeling purposeful? Kinda tricky, huh? Such a busy, pressure-laden world!
    I like quotes, too, and catch myself getting caught up in reading them…kinda like greeting cards! I could actually write entire posts with them! ;-))

  5. Daniel said

    Odale just thought I let you know I put your link on my blogroll. I think some people that read my blog would really enjoy your edifying material. God Bless and dont get me started with qoutes I have so many books that are just qoutes. They are great thought starters though. Praying that there will be an outpouring of God’s Spirit at your camp meeting.

    Daniel

  6. marlajayne said

    Odale, you’re much too kind. Upclose, I’m just an ordinary gal (a Southern one!) trying to navigate her way through life, and friends like you help me immensely. One of the things I admire about you is your close relationship with God and your ability to see His influence in our life.

  7. gypsygirl said

    Hey, Odale! :) Yes, feeling purposeful these days! But it would still not be easy to write in words.. As of now though, my only purpose is to clear some examinations and interviews and get going on my training as a psychiatrist! Other than that, I want to try and explore writing more than I have, and learn some dance in between! :) I know its not much, but still its keeping my hands totally full! :)
    I agree, its a busy, pressure-laden world, and I always take timeouts..haha..A few months of hibernation really help!
    About the quotes, I love the fact that they say so much in a single line, and often lead us to think, which in my belief is the most important thing that any writing should always endeavour to fulfil. Your posts always do! :)

  8. Odale said

    That is so kind and thrilling that you like my blog, Daniel! I will do the same to share the comfort I receive from your blog. It’s gonna sound strange to some, but I can tell you are indwelt with the Holy Spirit. You lend me strength, brother.

    MarlaJayne, You are the one who’s kind and I love that we have formed such a close bond! You see that gypsygirl is gonna be a psychiatrist? I better be careful with the two of you and be very proper! ;-))

    Hey gypsygirl…good marketing technique: Dancing Psychiatrist!! ;-) Seriously, I had no idea you were taking all of that on! We will all be praying for your rapid success in training so you can get busy fixing the world…Kudos for your hard work.

  9. gypsygirl said

    Thankyou so much Odale for your wishes and prayers! Medicine is a huge road, and I still have a long way to go to become a psychiatrist!
    I don’t think though, that you should be too proper with us, we’ll be okay otherwise too! ;)

  10. RMSJr said

    Hmm snared into a wormhole through a blackhole into October 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
