Word For It. . .

2Chronicles7:14-“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

Misery Loves Company

Posted by wordforit on October 8, 2007

 faith_notsight_va.jpg For those who contend that Christians are more guilty of committing the very sins that our doctrine speaks against, I would like to point out that: 

If Satan is not tempting you, it is because he has no need; he already has you right where he wants. 

“If our gospel be hid, it is hid to them that are lost: in whom the god of this world [Satan] hath blinded the minds of them which believe not…” II Corinthians 4:3-4 (Red text=links in new windows.) 

It is comparable to how we act in our humanness; if we have not won a friendship we desire or a client who would benefit a business endeavor, we will go out of our way for that connection. However, when it comes to those who already like us, we do not do much more than try to keep them happy. That is how Satan operates; he does not worry and pester us until he sees that we might actually be sincere in following Jesus. Jesus is his worst nightmare; do-gooder that He is, wanting everyone in the New Jerusalem, living in a mansion, no less.

If you do not attend church because of hypocrites, you were going for the wrong reasons.

God is all about free will and allowing us to come to Him of our own desire. Do you want to be forced to love someone or do you try to force your children to love you in return for taking care of their needs? Do you know when your child is “buttering you up” when they want something? Yeah, so do I, but God does not have to surmise, He recognizes when we are using Him and He knows a sincere and contrite heart.

If you do not believe Jesus Christ is the Son of God, you have not read the Bible carefully and based your beliefs on facts.

The adage, “misery loves company”, has never been truer than in thinking about how desperately Satan wants followers. He apparently convinced one third of the original angels to follow him , so think how much weaker our human countenance is against an ancient who knows our nature and scripture inside and out!

If you are sure unbelief is the truth, you have no need to disparage the name of another belief system to affirm ‘why’.

I believe in Jesus Christ as the Savior because I have read and do read the Bible, came to my own conclusions and have a personal relationship with Him. No one forced me or brainwashed me; I am certainly not ignorant or gullible. God knows me and accepts the way I react and takes in to consideration the things in life that cause those reactions. That does not mean He does not correct me, but He will not allow me to go through more than I am equipped to handle.

Job is a story I try to avoid. No need to lie about it; I hate to think of ever being tested the way poor Job was. Satan had the brilliant idea to challenge God that he could make Job, a successful and wealthy man, curse God. The troubles that were brought on Job are a lot to bear in just the reading, but Job’s faith was enough that he was immensely rewarded, and he earned every bit. 

All Christians are not greedy, money-focused individuals. When tithing is spoken of, it is meant to be taken in a spirit of having the means to proselytize, spread the joy, and take care of His sheep. We that have true understanding are more than a little aware that this is not always the case and some have been duped more often than nonbelievers. “Misappropriating funds” is not exclusive to Christians.

Christians know, nonetheless, to pray for those who are deceived and taken in by the ‘rulers of darkness’.  See my post: “Wrestling…I” . I feel bad for those who have repented, but I feel worse for those who have not repented. Hate the sin, not the sinner.

Satan is the god of this world. He knows scripture better than any human and is the author of confusion.

We are not, and should not claim to be, exempt from wrongdoing or wrongthinking, no matter what we believe.

 Publican and Pharisee

Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, “God, I thank You that I am not like other men — extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this tax collector. I fast twice a week; I give tithes of all that I possess.” And the tax collector, standing afar off, would not so much as raise his eyes to heaven, but beat his breast, saying, “God, be merciful to me a sinner!” I tell you, this man (the publican) went down to his house justified rather than the other; for everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted. Luke 18:10-14

Be careful when you think you are more ethical or righteous than your neighbor! It is not my intention to judge or seem superior; I am saddened by those who are tricked in to pagan beliefs. God Bless You.

7 Responses to “Misery Loves Company”

  1. Daniel said

    “If Satan is not tempting you he has no need” that is a great thought. Great post today,keep the edifying material coming. God Bless

    Daniel
    http://www.apostolicmessenger.wordpress.com

  2. Odale said

    Thank you, Daniel! I pray for guidance in what to say cuz I want to share EVERYTHING!! :-)

  3. I like your first ‘bolded’ comments I heard a great proverb (not biblical … but good nonetheless) that said:

    “If you haven’t met the devil on life’s path it’s because you’re traveling in the same direction”

    I have to say that there was a period of time I stopped going to Church because of Christians and I found that when someone is hurt enough by the church the reasons they went to begin with don’t really matter anymore – Church just becomes … well … distasteful.

  4. Odale said

    I like your Proverb and thanks for sharing it! I guess a lot of us have had bad experiences and I have had extended periods where I didn’t have a church, although I studied, read my Bible, etc, but I now go with a strong desire to worship and to hear the message…I always learn something new! There are some that I do not care for their approach to others but there are those everywhere. Bottom line for me is, to be in agreement with biblical principles. Thank you for your feedback and God Bless You!

  5. marlajayne said

    So much to think about here! You really had your thinking cap on when you were writing this. I’m in a bit of a rush this morning (work is getting in the way of my blogging!), but I wanted to comment on a couple of things:
    That self-righteousness attitude on the part of so many Christians really galls me sometimes. I know that sometimes the things that really bug us about others are the very things that we are guilty of, so I’ve asked my husband on several occasions to please, please, please tell me if he ever sees me acting in a self-righteous, holier than thou way. Quick story (ohhh, I’m going to be so late for work): Some of us at church organized a book club that meets once a month, and we have about 8 members who regularly attend with others who drift in and out according to the book we’ve chosen, their schedules, and so forth. Anyway, one of the leaders (I use that word loosely) refuses to put our annoucment in the newsletter because one month someone chose a book that had the “F word) in it. I hate that book too and would never knowingly choose to read something with vulgarities or profanity or anything else in it. Still…that was over a year ago, and since then we’ve had no R rated books on our list. What I feel like telling her is that her self-righteous attitude is keeping a lot of people from enjoying a literary and social experience. There…I’ve said it and I feel much better! Sometimes I wonder if these people have ever really read the Bible and all of the R-rated stories like Lot and his daughters or Judah and his daughter in law. Okay, enough.

    Do you think Job was a real story and that he was a real man? I never thought twice about it until a 17 asked me recently. Then I started thinking about it and wondered exactly who the author was and how he (I’m sure it was a he) knew about that little conversation between God and Satan.

    Have a splended day in the Peach State.

  6. Odale said

    LOL Work is getting in the way of blogging!! Same here!!LOL I’ve got some things I have to get finished by the end of the week!!

    It’s not like we have never heard the “f” word, but I think it’s more important in how we respond and whether we adopt ways that are not pleasing to God. A “leader” disacknowledging you only “leads” to insult and more hurt feelings in our midst…and we certainly don’t need that from within!!

    I do not want to be self-righteous, either, but I am tired of being stereotyped and hesitant to say “I’m a Christian” b/c certain people point fingers at us any time one “goes astray” and are looking for an excuse to deny God. I don’t want to feel like I need to add,”But I’m sincere!” or debate scripture. I would rather be called self-righteous or fanatical than a Laodicean (lukewarm, whom God spits out, Rev 3:14-16).The very ones who claim to be “enlightened” are the ones vilifying Christianity and referring to us as ignorant for believing scripture. Not to get in to a whole new post about how smart Satan is (I respect that you know these things :-) and how much power he has, but knowledge can work against us as much as for us. I have read some upsetting material lately (as you undoubtedly can tell) and have former students and family members who have been influenced by the atheism (more currently referred to as antitheists, as I understand) propaganda. I’m feeling like it’s a strong attempt in backing us into a corner and souls are at stake in a big way.

    Not only the Book of Job, but Ezekiel 14:14-20 and James 5:11 make reference to Job. According to biblical scholars, Job was a real,historical person. It is not known precisely who the author(s)is/are (Job, Elihu(Job,Ch 32&33), Moses and Solomon are thought) but it is intended to exemplify God’s sovreignty and establish our need for Him. The discussions with Satan give insight into Satan’s purpose.

    The thoughts as to authenticity are more than I have time for right this minute but, yes, it is real, but possibly more a dramatic poetic version than verbatim.

    Sorry, I don’t mean to be unclear—had to go help clean the church for homecoming, my pup had a flea on him so I had to treat him (2 hrs later…), had to go get a new mouse (Wal-Mart is the social center here:-)etc., etc. and am rushing to finish what I did not do in between!

  7. marlajayne said

    So there’s a Wal-Mart there too, huh? When I left the coast, one of my daughters said, “Mom, are you sure you know what you’re doing? The only stores there are Belk and Wal-Mart!”

    Thanks for the information on Job. It’s a fascinating book, isn’t it? Fascinating and upsetting too. To have friends and family turn against you, be covered with boils and who knows what else, have all your children get killed, and many other horrendous things is more than my mind can comprehend. And then to say, “Until I die I will not remove my integrity from me.” He did say that, right? Anyway, he’s the ultimate example of patience, faith, and trust.

    About Satan, I was thinking about him earlier today because a book club at school has chosen Lewis’s The Screwtape Letters for the October book, and as I was thumbing through it, I came across this sentence in the preface that really “hit me.” I don’t have the book here at home tonight, but a paraphrase is “Dear Reader, I need to remind you that the devil is a liar.”

    Must get some sleep.

Leave a Reply

 
