Word For It. . .

2Chronicles7:14-“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

Salvation is Free! Free is Good…

Posted by wordforit on September 21, 2007

Debating scripture is usually counter-productive. If I want someone to join me in the joy and security I enjoy as a Christian, arguing the finer points that even Christians don’t agree on smacks of redundancy.

I am a member of a church, but I don’t agree with every perception of my immediate fellow members (aka sisters and brothers in Christ), much less the entire organization. We are, however, of one mind on the things that matter to God.

It becomes even more complex when considering all of what comes under the umbrella of “Christian”. The very word “Christian” means “Christ-like” but some of what I am aware of “under the umbrella” does not coincide with what I hold as precious.

Christianity is not complex. The complexity, to me, is why it has become so complex. We could spend vast amounts of time on that topic…

 

Following is The Apostle’s Creed, which pretty well sums up my (basic) testimony.

 

I believe in the God the Father, Almighty,

 Maker of heaven and earth,

 And in Jesus Christ, His only Son, Our Lord,

Who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,

Born of the virgin, Mary,

Suffered under Pontius Pilate,

Was crucified, dead and buried.

The third day he rose from the dead,

He ascended into heaven

And sits at the right hand of God the Father, Almighty,

From where He shall come to judge the living and the dead.

 

I believe in the Holy Spirit,

The communion of saints,

The forgiveness of sins,

The resurrection of the body,

And life everlasting.

Amen

 

Like all who have come to Salvation through Christ, I have a testimony. Sometimes, however, what we reveal can be a hindrance rather than an encouragement. I know for certain that it wasn’t my good judgment that kept me safe all those years I spent “runnin’ blind”! I never lost my faith, but I wasted many years looking in the wrong direction.

All things work to the good for those who love the Lord. (Romans 8:28) As I am back in His fold, life is richer and more meaningful because my mind, heart, body and soul are rededicated and rejuvenated to His service. Most importantly, my soul because that’s the only part of me from this life that will be with Him. I believe if your soul is healthy, the rest is gravy.   

There is room for all who BELIEVE in Jesus Christ as the redeemer, the Savior. Will you join us at His table?

 

Please visit:

http://www.christnotes.org/help.php?topic=WhatWeBelieve  (new window)

Romans 3:23-31 :

23 For all have done wrong and are far from the glory of God;  24 And they may have righteousness put to their credit, freely, by his grace, through the salvation which is in Christ Jesus: 25 Whom God has put forward as the sign of his mercy, through faith, by his blood, to make clear his righteousness when, in his pity, God let the sins of earlier times go without punishment; 26 And to make clear his righteousness now, so that he might himself be upright, and give righteousness to him who has faith in Jesus. 27 What reason, then, is there for pride? It is shut out. By what sort of law? of works? No, but by a law of faith. 28 For this reason, then, a man may get righteousness by faith without the works of the law. 29 Or is God the God of Jews only? Is he not in the same way the God of Gentiles? Yes, of Gentiles: 30 If God is one; and he will give righteousness because of faith to those who have circumcision, and through faith to those who have not circumcision. 31 Do we, then, through faith make the law of no effect? in no way: but we make it clear that the law is important.”   Reference: Bible in Basic English

 

Please, do not let the temptations and trials of this life keep you from being with Jesus Christ in paradise. We are all unworthy due to our nature, but He welcomes us never-the-less!

 

God Bless and Keep You and Yours.

3 Responses to “Salvation is Free! Free is Good…”

  1. marlajayne said

    Great post to end my Sunday with. I concur with you 100 percent. What’s the point of arguing the finer points of doctrine? As you said, it’s counter-productive. What most people want is peace and love and joy, and how can one really find that by arguing with or attacking others?

    I’ll go a step further. Although I’m a Christian, I can see some truth in all religions. I remember being so impressed with something Gandhi said about God being atop a mountain and all of us trying to get to him. The problem is that we’re all at the bottom of the mountain, and we all have to start from where we are. If we live in the American South, we start our ascent from a different place and different faith than the Hindus in India or the Buddhists in China. Still, as Gandhi said, sooner or later the paths converge as we near the top. How this happens, I don’t know. For today, I’m content to let the mysteries of heaven wait until I get there.

  2. Odale said

    I have read my share of material in regard to religion, too, and several years ago I wrote an article about individual religions’ leaders who said to treat others as we want to be treated. It was surprising to me, at the time having never looked too close, the differences, yet similarities, of doctrines! The caution for me is that Satan knows scripture and has been around long enough to have deception perfected…

    Yes, my dear marlajayne, I do not like to argue religion and my belief is that we are not supposed to be contentious about the things of God.

    I am happy that you had a safe trip! I will be over to see if you’re going to tell us about it!!

  3. TheDeeZone said

    Well said.

Leave a Reply

 
