Word For It. . .

2Chronicles7:14-“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

Thank You, Fellow Bloggers!

Posted by wordforit on September 20, 2007

Here I am among you and you have restored my faith in our ability. I have read blogs that make me laugh, some make me go “Huh?” and some make me feel like an I.D.10.T.   I then realize you allow me to be good at what I’m good at and I just go with the flow, showing the same courtesy! I see folk from different parts of the world and that’s a sign that they also want to share in this amazing medium. This is so cool!

I love the blogs that give praise to God and am happy to know that I have family here. I have been a Christian many years and have studied and meditated in depth, yet I have learned from and enjoyed the uplifting thoughts others share every day since I began.

I am becoming less intimidated and more apt to hit “publish” rather than wonder… I remind myself that my beliefs do not allow me to hide my light under a bush so I am going to do my best to make what I share worthy of God-granted ability.

When I read the average reading level statistics, I felt overwhelmed! It makes my head hurt to think about Americans not being able to read! The predominant grade level for reading averages throughout the reports I read was eighth for high school graduates!

When I sat down to write after I read that, I was constantly going in to “tools” in my Word program and clicking on “spelling and grammar” to find out how many passive sentences I had and what grade level the writing was on. I was going crazy trying to get to eighth grade. I gave up on that effort. Who’s dumbing down whom? Scholarly can be monotonous although necessary at times, but ignorance is not bliss.

There are reports and essays all over the internet and elsewhere telling us that we have an illiteracy epidemic. If you’ve read my “Zero Reading Level?” post, you know that I have encountered individuals who are plagued with this malady. That may sound corny, but I think it’s something we can have a part in redeeming.

Start at home, but read with children every chance you get. I don’t know if it’s allowed in all schools, understandable if not, but in my area, adults volunteer to read a certain number of days in a school year. The local library has a lot of similar programs, especially in the summer.

I am the aunt who always makes sure books are a part of long visits. My son was reading before he started school and I think it may be partly due to having  books before he could talk and seeing me and other adults reading. It was natural that he wanted to be in on the action. I promise, he’s a genius! ;-)

The controversy about which way to teach reading, letters vs. whole words, seems redundant. Feel free to offer input, but learning whole words without being able to sound out letters in the first place would seem to limit the amount of words learned, hence, vocabulary and reading is impeded. English is not an easy language but that’s not a viable excuse.

I am not a scholar but thank God for parents, teachers, and others who cared that I know how to find information, dissect it and think for myself. Anyone who cannot read is missing out on those privileges. Like everything else, it is up to each person to take this reading issue personal.

If you’re interested, here is an essay I like:

http://www.nrrf.org/essay_Illiteracy.html

 

Thanks again for entertaining and enlightening! Happy blogging!

8 Responses to “Thank You, Fellow Bloggers!”

  1. I am appreciating the gratitudes that you express. If you received something that will surely be a great thankful for, let us not assume that it came from devil.
    My belief, as what the track of line goes, all are came from God and allowed by God to happen. Therefore, I comment that we should also be thankful to God FIRST.

    LET US NOT FORGET THAT.

    “TO GOD BE THE GLORY”

  2. Odale said

    Amen! It is important that I remenmber all things come from Him and all things work out for Good that we may Glorify His Name. Thanks for visiting, entertainer, and I hope you enjoy building your site to His Glory as much as I am! God Bless and Keep You.

  3. marlajayne said

    Amen to your thoughts about Blogland and about the importance of reading. I’m a huge advocate for education and am always (and I do mean always) reminding my students that it’s the ticket to a better life. It’s mind boggling to me to realize that in many, many countries of the world, children don’t even have access to a primary school education. In developing countries, females receive less formal education than males. My hat is off to Oprah for what she’s doing for the girls in Africa.

    Before I really go overboard, I just want to share something an acquaintance recently said when asked to join our book club. She said, “Life’s too short to read fiction.” I still can’t get over that. Last month we read Life of Pi, and I’m still thinking about Pi and Richard Parker. This month we’re reading Anna Quindlen’s Blessings, and I find myself thinking about Faith and Skip at odd moments of the day and night. I guess what I’m trying to say is that fiction and nonfiction enrich our lives and minds. But then, I guess you already know that,huh?

    What’s your favorite book?

  4. Odale said

    You know I’m going to say my Bible, of course!;-)

    Oh, there is a lot to be said for reading, period! If it makes you feel any better, someone not liking fiction is better than someone not reading at all. I have had people look at me as if I were crazy for enjoying books.
    Have you ever read any of John Jakes’ books? I love history and he can weave a story with facts entwined like no one else! Well, maybe there are others…He has “The Kent Family Chronicles” which chronicles a family from coming to America (US) to the present. Excellent reading if you like history. Have you read Beth Moore’s “Get Out of That Pit!”? Pretty sure she’s Tommy Moore’s (SC) wife. That’s a good one for a book club (imho, of course;-). I have three different bookshelves and read/reference continually.
    You know, I used to work at the local middle school. GOD BLESS TEACHERS!!! To think kids elsewhere would, and do, walk for miles to go to school and we can’t get some of ours to pay attention. Okay, stop me before I go too far with that!! ;-))

    Thank you for being such a good friend and sister in Christ, marlajayne!

  5. fielder said

    After reading this (about the level of writing), I opened up Word and found one story I’ve been working on lately – it’s been one I’m pretty proud of…. I checked the Reading Grade Level for it, tho… try 4.9! Ouch! Ah well, it gives me more of a challenge next time I sit down to write! :) Thanks for the comment you left earlier – and thanks for posting the Apostle’s Creed in one of your most recent posts- it’s a good reminder of what our faith really boils down to. Have a great day! :)

  6. ellaella said

    I was a literacy volunteer for years and it’s just appalling. A UN study a few years back found 1/5 of America’s young adults are functional illiterates. This, in the world’s richest nation.

    Isn’t it sad that there are probably way more young people who know who J-Lo is but have never heard of Faulkner?

  7. marlajayne said

    I can tell that literacy (or maybe I should say illiteracy) is a hot topic among bloggers, and I’m wondering what we could do in our little areas of influence to improve the situation.

  8. Odale said

    Hi, fielder! Thanks for letting me know that The Apostle’s Creed is meaningful.
    Not to seem like I am disparaging anyone, but some reports claim that the easier something is to read, the better. Your 4.9 story may be the next “Great American Novel”! ;-)I hope everyone will click to your page and read the “A Woman Should Have” page…potent! I don’t know how to do videos and such ( still trying to master pictures;-)but my hat’s off to you for your expertise.

    Oh, ellaella, you are so right, unfortunately! It is mind boggling but we can look around and see some of why things have become so convoluted.
    Thanks for stopping by and I will be back to visit your blog, too! Recipes, humor and political commentary all in one! You’re quite talented and witty…computer savvy, as well, by the way your site is presented.

    Hi, marlajayne! The link in this post will go to The National Right to Read Foundation. At the bottom of the page are suggestions under the subtitle, “Now is the Time for Action!”. Page down a little more, past the citations and there are links such as resources, research, links, etc. Lots of pertinent info!

    I once had a teacher who said she could not open our minds and pour the info in for us…you would think someone would have come up with that by now!! ;-)) hmmm…Well, the internet is comparable…

    I’m wondering; do we just add soemone to our blogroll or is it more acceptable to ask? Gave myself away as a newbie, didn’t I?

    Thank you all for coming by to visit me…we’re all in this together! Have a Blessed Day.

Leave a Reply

 
