Word For It. . .

2Chronicles7:14-“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

A House Divided, 2007

Posted by wordforit on September 20, 2007

Unbelievable that Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton have not been arrested for inciting hostility, hate speech and any number of offenses! They exploit people of their own race thereby dragging everyone else in, polarizing the black and white races and creating havoc everywhere they go. Their names are synonomous with  hatemongers. I can’t believe anyone would jump on their bandwagon. The “protestors”need to outsmart them at some point and stop attending their rallies and following them like sheep to the slaughter.

JJ denies it now, or “doesn’t remember it”, but if JJ accused Barack Obama of “acting white”, it should have career-destroying-repercussions. Don Imus lost out for less. (Imus’ comment was indirect and meant to be witty.) My bet is that JJ’s slur will be swept under the carpet because of the potential political hazard for Obama. That will say a lot about Obama’s character.

As Jay Leno said, and I paraphrase, “Where do white people go when they are mistreated?” JJ and AS are exploiting their own race worse than any televangelist does in the religious arena but there are not many articles addressing JJ & AS in that context.

“Racism” is such a boring, worn-out cliche’ used for sneezing in the wrong direction. I am going to step it up a little and start using the word, “ethnocentric”. Everyone is somewhat ethnocentric! It’s the haters who others listen to who are dangerous. If JJ or AS were men of substance, they would talk to those young people in a manner of resolution, but that would not feed the frenzy, therewith their wallets! If I had been around for the civil rights movement and heard them comparing this idiocy to what went on back then, I would hope to be wise enough to see the disparities. Oops, I used one of their favorite words, disparity…

Most of us “down here”, believe it or not, get along with each other and try to make life more bearable, given we have serious issues going on in the world. Look at the diversion JJ and AS have created away from real issues. I wonder how many will want to follow on Judgement Day? I don’t hear “reverend” attached to JJ’s name as much as I used to…

If the kids have time to make nooses to hang in trees, they would probably love the Navy. If the others love to beat people up they would probably love the Army infantry hands-on approach. I’m sure some poor soul stationed in Iraq would love for them to take their place so they could have a stateside duty! I’m being facetious; we can’t dump on the military like that.

The “kids” were wrong for beating that other “kid” the way they did and I am sick of our judicial system being turned in to a “water the pansies garden party”.

Abraham Lincoln quoted Matthew 12:25, “And Jesus knew their thoughts, and said unto them, “Every kingdom divided against itself is brought to desolation; and every city or house divided against itself shall not stand:”  

It will take effort from all sides to resolve ethnocentrism but as the war from the biblical Abraham’s day rages on, I can do my part by reading my Bible and other edifying material, incorporate it into my daily life, and hope to be allowed to bring some kindness in to the world.

 

2 Responses to “A House Divided, 2007”

  1. marlajayne said

    You’re a brave gal for bringing up such a potentially volatile issue. I’m glad you did, however, because it gives me a chance to share something I read a few months ago in relation to Sharpton and some of his negative comments about Obama. The columnist whom I’m quoting (can’t remember who it was unfortunately) said that Sharpton and Jackson and a few others just hadn’t realized it yet, but their day in the sun was over. They were yesterday’s news, and no one really cared what the “old guard” had to say. Who cares whether they like Obama or not? He doesn’t need their endorsement, and I don’t think he wants it. In fact, it might even hurt him.

    About ethnocentrism, I think we’re all guilty of having a little of that, and I think that’s fine as long as we also practice some cultural relativism. In church Sunday the Primary children presented the program, and I liked it so much that I wrote down one of the lines from a song they sang in their sweet young voices: “Our Heavenly Father loves us all in each and every land.” I might add “in each and every color.”

    Okay, that’s it. I’m hushing up for the moment.

  2. Odale said

    I felt compelled to say something and I am concerned about where this could lead if people don’t stop feeding in to the “disparity” jargon and read “critically” (outside the box?). I was not raised to and do not have a mindset to interact the way those following JJ & AS’s lead do! Remember the other night we were talking about profaning God’s name? Perfect example…
    Somewhere in my memory, I read the article you mentioned (or one similar) and I read comments on news sites that concur. At the same time,I cannot express how disgusted I am with the numbers of those who still listen and follow their ignorant propaganda. It is mentioned in every newscast/break here and I am stunned that TD Jakes and David Bowie have contributed money to “the cause”. They’re undoing the good that’s been done. Justice isn’t about “color”, it’s about right and wrong and whether an immature act not physically hurting anyone gives the right to do bodily injury. If I see a confederate flag hanging from a porch, do I have the right to burn their house down or beat them up? I have a cross attached to my front porch; God forbid that offends someone. The difference is public/private property and I can see that being addressed. The blame is being misappropriated, once again. Why didn’t someone cut that tree down a long time ago?
    Being ethnocentric is human nature and I agree with you that God does not care about that, but this is an outrage and a slap in the face to every American who has done their part to “bridge the gap”. In thinking about Obama, who could blame him for wanting to keep a low profile? The old adage, “I won’t dignify that with an answer.”…
    Thank you for being brave enough to comment, marlajayne! ;-))

Leave a Reply

 
