Word For It. . .

2Chronicles7:14-“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

Benefit of Spam

Posted by wordforit on September 6, 2007

Are you receiving e-mails making promises of success and wealth? How about the ones that are becoming more frequent where the sender needs someone to handle his or her business in the USA, promising lucrative payments and sure’nuff legal business practices? If you’re not being spammed, please share your secret with the rest of us!

I have no idea how many solicitations come to my inbox a day/week but, before you delete them without considering what is offered, allow me to make a suggestion.

Everyone has quality and ability. If you are looking for a way to earn money via the internet, read the e-mails for the ideas and content. If nothing else, it gives ideas for what NOT to do! I am not suggesting that anyone should arbitrarily open every single e-mail, from the legitimate to the garbage, but I am proposing that you can learn from these letters and forms.

As an example, I am in a home-based business that I can market online, in person or on the phone. A few months ago, the way to go was a lengthy sales letter. In recent weeks, I notice brevity has become more solicitous because the “gurus” have figured out that we do not have time for all that sales razzle-dazzle!

Being the novice that I am, but with a healthy dose of curiosity and initiative, I read a lot of information and click on many URLs, finding sales pitches for information and/or products that may or may not be useful for my purposes. On one hand, I resent the aforementioned “razzle-dazzle”. On the other, I will support those who make a sincere effort to make the endeavors of others simpler. If I could, I would go back and list every con and deceptive link I have encountered and clicked on to find nonsense. By the same token, I wish I could retain, store and share the vast knowledge and opportunites available if one is patient to find and learn from the right places.

Due to my love for reading and writing, and engaging in much of both over the years, I have gleaned invaluable knowledge and skills by opening e-mails and studying the approaches of what is written.

When reading material others have diligently, and some not-so-diligently, have composed, I read objectively. The idea is to look at the parts that sound ridiculous and hyped-up. What is it that turns me off? What is it that causes me to click on the links to find more info? When I do click on the links, what have I found to keep my attention? Unequivocally, unless an article is written extremely well in the context of offering an item I must have, an article written with poor grammar and misspelled words all over the place will not entice me.

I am not referring to skipped letters or even overlooked words. I will always remember the e-mail asking me if I was tired of “specking relief from deceases”. The intention was “seeking relief from diseases” and I was completely dismayed that someone would dare to offer the public such a notion without at least looking at what they were sending!

An individual can glean knowledge without paying high university fees  just by seeking(although that little piece of paper is the ticket in the “on ground world”). Remember the Bible verse, “Seek and ye shall find”? It is found in the Book of Matthew, Chapter7, verse seven. The reference is technically about seeking answers through prayer, but we must be seekers in any sense to find answers. 

“There is no new thing under the sun” from Ecclesiastes, Chapter 1, verse 9 is one of my favorite “facts of life”.

For as much as we have progressed culturally, human nature is the same, only with more opportunity to take the “broad way”. The low road is broad and seemingly more expedient, but the high road is where lasting success with integrity is found. That’s where you will find me!

2 Responses to “Benefit of Spam”

  1. gypsygirl said

    “seek and you shall find..” I completely agree with it.Life’s not a book of questions with answers plastered just below, but a book which seeks to arouse us and question and then find answers to those questions.. It isn’t a straight forward road, its a sinuous path..and we must learn to follow it, or make do with bylanes that sadly have only dead ends to offer.. The choice is ours, rewards are aplenty..! :)

  2. Odale said

    So right! I keep thinking I need to come and revise this…funny thing is, I did not know WordPress was having apam issues when I wrote it…wondered why it got all those “hits”! :-))It was something I had written way before having a blog in thinking about how much I gleaned from the hype and nonsense.
    I am so glad you “got” what I meant! Wouldn’t expect you not to, though, cuz you’re a “thinker”!! ;-)

Leave a Reply

 
